Tea Champion Image


14 hours, 4 modules of 3.5 hours over 2 days.


What is tea and where the plant first grew
How tea travelled from China to other countries
Tea’s arrival in Europe
The first tea estates in India and Ceylon
The tea bag and the expansion of the tea industry in the 1950s
Tea trends today
The tea plant, different varietals and cultivars
The basics of harvesting
Why all teas are different
Six different tea categories
Loose tea or teabags
Golden rules of tea storage and brewing
Water for brewing
Different brewing vessels
Multiple infusions
Milk, lemon and sugar in tea


The basics of tea tasting
Brewing practice
Tea processing terminology
Different levels of oxidation in different categories of tea
The manufacture of black tea
Orthodox and CTC
Taste 7 black teas from different origins
The manufacture of green tea
Taste 6 green teas from different origins


The manufacture of yellow tea
Taste 1 yellow tea
The manufacture of white tea
Taste 4 white teas from different origins
The manufacture of dark and balled oolongs
Taste 4 different styles of oolongs
Manufacture of Puerh tea (raw ‘sheng’ and cooked ‘shu’ types)
Taste 4 Puerh teas
Blind tasting and recognition of dry leaf


Grading terms
The manufacture of flavoured teas
Taste 4 flavoured teas
The manufacture of flowering teas
Taste 2 flowering teas
What’s available – single estate, single origin and blends of teas from different origins
The principles of blending, taste 2 English Breakfast blends.
Creating a blend
Certification bodies - organic, bio-dynamic, non-organic cultivation
 (Fairtrade, ETP, etc)
Tea and Health


The Tea Champion Test will be taken at 5.15pm on Day 2 of the course and take around 30 minutes. Anyone wishing to take it at a later date may do so by arrangement with Academy tutors.  Upon completion of all four modules and the achievement of satisfactory results in the test, participants will be awarded the qualification of UK Tea Academy: TEA CHAMPION.